Basic Medical Sciences

Faculty selected as IPREP mentors
David B. Burr, Ph.D.
David B. Burr, Ph.D. – Faculty Liaison
Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Anatomy and Cell Biology, IU School of Medicine

Dept. of Biomedical Engineering, IUPUI
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research, IUPUI
Tel: 317-274-7434
Office: MS5035
Dr. Burr is the IPREP Program Director, is the Associate Vice Chancellor for Research on the IUPUI campus, and Indiana University Distinguished Professor. He has extensive research and graduate training experience. He served on the Executive Committee for the Bridges to the Doctorate Program from 2002 to 2010, and also on the Advisory Committee for the Edwin T. Harper Scholar’s Program that provided fellowships, mentorships and academic tutoring to URMs. In the Bridges program, he mentored two Master’s-level students from Jackson State University in his laboratory. Both subsequently entered graduate school, one at Temple University. Dr. Burr also was the Director of the Musculoskeletal Training Grant (T32) from 1996-2007. He has served on 30 doctoral committees, and chaired eight of them. He served on 16 committees for Master’s students, and trained 26 postdoctoral fellows. He will be primarily responsible for ensuring that all IPREP objectives are met in a timely manner, overseeing the overall direction of the program, and for reporting to the NIH.

Dr. Burr's primary area of research emphasis has been to evaluate the properties and quality of bone matrix, including the accumulation and repair of microdamage, changes in mineralization and alterations to the collagenous matrix. He also studies the mechanical adaptation of bone. His laboratory is equipped to characterize histological and histomorphometric features of different tissues, and to utilize bone density (BMD) and imaging techniques (µCT, pQCT) to analyze tissues in animal models.
Post-Baccalaureate Research Education Program
Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research
755 W. Michigan Street
University Library, UL 1140
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5159
Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M.